History of First Christian Church

The Atwood Christian Church was organized in October of 1888 by Alfred T. Hall and others associated as charter members. About 16 members of the Christian Church were living in or near Atwood at the time. Some of those who joined were: A. T. Hall, Sarah Hall, S. W. Gaunt, Jennie Gaunt, D. A. Hall, Nettie Hall, William Coleman, Estella Coleman, S. S. Hall, Alice Hall, Mrs. Ainsworth, Celia Cromwell, Elmira Shirley, Mattie Tindall, and W. J. Ratcliff.

In 1909 about thirty new members were added during this Evangelistic Campaign. The organization transferred its activities to the court room of the Court House where it conducted its regular services until the fall of 1891, at which time it moved into the First Christian structure at 4th and Page Streets.

The first Church building was begun in the spring of 1891, and was completed in the fall of the same year. At the time the congregation had a membership of around 150. The Sunday School enrollment reached about 115.

A State Charter incorporating the First Christian Church of Atwood, Kansas, was issued on May 16, 1892.

The cornerstone for the present building at 6th and Page was laid in 1925 by Frank G. Cook. The sanctuary was completed and dedicated Christmas Day of 1937.

In 1955 the new parsonage was built and the Watsons moved in on Feb. 1, 1955.

A new educational wing was completed in 1960.

Information by Viola Crist and Thelma Christ in Volume One of the History of Rawlins County, Kansas.

The centennial of the congregation was celebrated in 1988.

The congregation was yoked with the Immanuel United Church of Christ (Herndon) 2001-2002.

The 120th Anniversary of the church was celebrated in 2008.

Information by Christine D. Edwards in Volume Three of the History of Rawlins County, Kansas.

The educational wing and the original building were air-conditioned in 2012.

Recent PASTORS:

William Henry Hart (1958 – 1960)

Richard Bacon (1960 -)

Joseph Cunningham (1971 – 1989)

Pamela June Webb (1989 -1992)

William Bradley (1993-1994)

Kirk Smethers (1994 – 1997)

Jim Larson (1977- 2004)

Christine Edwards (2004 – 2010)

Mike McVay (2011 – 2014)

David Todd (2014 – present)